Request Info
Bulldog Account

  • connect
  • news
  • calendar

McPherson College Honors Exceptional High School Students at Scholarship Competition

posted Mar 05, 2012 in ACADEMICS

McPherson College welcomed 32 outstanding high school students to take part in its prestigious Presidential Scholarship Day on Feb. 4, 2012 – the largest group of presidential scholars this year.

Students are invited to the competition based on ACT scores and grade point average in high school, as well as demonstrating McPherson College’s mission – “To develop whole persons through Scholarship, Participation and Service” – with academic achievement; involvement in school, community and church; and service to others.

The level of scholarship each student receives is based on their performance during the competition. This consisted of an essay-writing competition, a moderated roundtable discussion and a personal interview. Students and guests also had the opportunity to tour the campus, visit with faculty and students and attend a luncheon in their honor. Participants in the competition included:

Allison Adams, Coldwater High School (Coldwater, Kan.)
Joyce Balderas-Esparza, Wichita West High School (Wichita, Kan.)
Tyffany Brown, Wichita South High School (Wichita, Kan.)
Miranda Burton, Quivira Heights High School (Bushton, Kan.)
Ryan Clark, McPherson High School (McPherson, Kan.)
Kari Devlin, Gardner Edgerton High School (Gardner, Kan.)
Veronica Dickson, Doniphan West High School (Denton, Kan.)
Simone Donaldson, Halstead High School (Halstead, Kan.)
Emily Dumler, Oakley High School (Oakley, Kan.)
Amelia Fabrizius, Trego Community High School (Wakeeney, Kan.)
Caden Ford, Haven High School (Haven, Kan.)
Todd Freeman, Derby HS (Wichita, Kan.)
Eric Huerter, B & B High School (Baileyville, Kan.)
Aubrey Hunn, Sandra Day O’Connor High School (Glendale, Ariz.)
Kaitlin Kendel, El Dorado High School (El Dorado, Kan.)
Kaley Kinnamon, McPherson High School (McPherson, Kan.)
Jared Krivin, Southern Lehigh High School (Center Valley, Pa.)
Amanda Leffew, Glenbard North High School (Carol Stream, Ill.)
Bailley McKinley, Derby High School (Derby, Kan.)
Rissa McNichols, Concordia High School (Concordia, Kan.)
Sarah Minneman, Solomon High School (Solomon, Kan.)
Ryan Mitchell, Eisenhower High School (Goddard, Kan.)
Gabriela Padilla, Wichita South High School (Wichita, Kan.)
Caleb Porter, McPherson High School (McPherson, Kan.)
Austin Schad, Valley Center High School (Valley Center, Kan.)
Ashley Sinness, Wichita South High School (Wichita, Kan.)
Makenzie Smith, Rose Hill High School (Rose Hill, Kan.)
Elizabeth Stein, Spearville High School (Spearville, Kan.)
David Tidwell, Shawnee Heights High School (Shawnee Heights, Kan.)

     Share This / Bookmark


McPherson College
News Feeds:

Add to My Yahoo!
Add to Google