college mcp-logo-header-white mcpherson

McPherson College Honors Years of Service

McPherson College community recently gathered to celebrate a combined total of 345 years of service to the college when it recognized faculty, staff and a board of trustee member with a reception, dinner, and awards program at Mingenback Theatre on March 1. The annual night of recognition celebrated the work of faculty, staff and board of trustees, who have served the college from five years to 40 years.

“The outstanding achievements and accomplishments by the honorees in the classroom, within individual departments, and in the McPherson community propel the college beyond being a great college to work for,” said Brenda Stocklin-Smith, director of human resources at the college. “These honorees facilitate world-class experiences for our students and it is in this deep sense of campus community where our students excel to be leaders of the future.”

Those honored included:

5 Years
Dara Dix, accounting specialist
Robert Spies, head coach, track and field
Lorena Medrano, assistant professor of Spanish
Gordon Reimer, head coach, women’s basketball
Kyle Hopkins, association professor of music/director of bands

10 years
Kathryn Russell, facility management, custodian
Sonja Sawatzky, academic records specialist
Philip Schoenwetter, head athletic trainer
Timothy Swartzenruber, head coach, men’s basketball/assistant professor of physical education
Colleen Gustafson, promotions & new media manager

15 Years
Ku-Sup Chin, associate professor of sociology
Dee Erway-Sherwood, professor of graphic design/executive director of visual arts
Rod Gieselman, professor of business
Brian Lundberg, director of marketing
Doug Quint, head coach, men’s soccer

20 Years
Lorraine Lahdenpera, director of Milwaukee Center Continuing Education Program

25 Years
Jonathan Frye, professor of natural science

30 Years
Kim Stanley, professor of English

35 Years
Bruce Clary, vice president of academic affairs/professor of English
Wayne Conyers, professor art

40 Years
Brad Stucky, general maintenance specialist

Board Member
Doug Lengel