Request Info
Bulldog Account

  • connect
  • news
  • calendar

McPherson College Recognizes Award-Winning Students

posted May 06, 2013 in ACADEMICS

McPherson College recognized the outstanding students of the 2012-2013 academic year at its annual Celebration and Awards Convocation on May 3.

Following a highlight video looking back at the last year, faculty and staff presented the awards and recognitions.

Recipients were as follows:

Technology Department-Auto Restoration Program
• Jay Leno/Popular Mechanics Scholarship - Mike Rhodes, sophomore, McPherson, Kan.

• Paul Russell Award for Excellence - Taylor Adams, senior, Ashland, Va.

• Outstanding Business Student Award- Claire Krizek, senior, McPherson, Kan.

Curriculum & Instruction
• Model Educator Award- Ben Coffey, Fall ’12 Alumnus, McPherson, Kan.
• Teachers of Promise- Aspen Frey, junior, Newton, Kan.; and Kelsey Stucky, junior, Cimarron, Kan.

History & Politics
• History & Politics Best Senior Thesis Award - Casey Maxon, senior, Lawrence, Kan.

Natural Science
• CRC Press Freshman Chemistry Achievement Award - Ashley Frankenbery, freshman, Benton, Kan.; and Whitney Zimmerman, freshman, Valley Center, Kan.
• Burkholder Research Award - Emily James, senior, Westminster, Colo.; Taylor Roop, Moscow, Kan.; Amanda Baxter, junior, Pueblo West, Colo.
• Merit Research Award - Kasey Miller, senior, Derby, Kan.; and Torey Fry, senior, Wichita, Kan.

Kansas Collegiate Media (KCM) Awards
• Miranda Clark, freshman, Russell, Kan.: Third Place in Sports Photography, Honorable Mention in Feature Photography, Honorable Mention in Photo Essay
• Cord Cunningham, junior, Ottawa, Kan.: First Place in Single Ad Design
• Allison Hartley ’12, Emporia, Kan.: First Place in Feature Photography
• Becca Hornung-Heeke, sophomore, Spearville, Kan.: Honorable Mention in Interior Page Design
• Fred Miller, senior, McPherson, Kan.: Honorable Mention in Feature Photography
• Kyle Smith, senior, Milford, Kan.: Honorable Mention in News Photography
• All Spectator Staff: Overall Bronze Medal

Visual Arts
Excellence in Competitive Exhibitions:
• Cord Cunningham, junior, Ottawa, Kan.; Heath Helmer, senior, Shawnee, Kan.; Evan Hiebert, junior, Goessel, Kan.; Danna Jacks, sophomore, Stafford, Kan.; Aurore Joigny, Deuil-la-Barre, France; Casey Maxon, senior, Lawrence, Kan.; E.H. Petropulos, junior, Larkspur, Colo.; Jacy Porter, junior, Little River, Kan.; Emilee Reinert, senior, Tipton, Kan.; Sarah Schowengerdt, junior, McPherson, Kan.; Shela Spencer, senior, McPherson, Kan.; Kala Tiemann, sophomore, Lewis, Kan.; Derrick Toney, senior, Salinas, Calif.

• Capital One Academic All-American Awards
o Jake Snodgrass, senior, Derby, Kan.: First team; Academic All-American of the Year
o Heath Hewitt, junior, Sterling, Kan.: Second team
o Byron O’Rourke, senior, Holcomb, Kan.: Second team
o Kasey Miller, senior, Derby, Kan.: Second team
• Female Athlete of the Year - Aspen Frey, junior, Newton, Kan.
• Male Athlete of the Year - Derrick Toney, senior, Salinas, Calif.

Physical Education
• Outstanding Physical Education Major - Molly Whitwell, senior, Plano, Texas

Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges
• Taylor Adams, senior, Ashland, Va.; Vyacheslav Bukatin, senior, Perm, Russia; Jacee Coberly, senior, Gove, Kan.; Torey Fry, senior, Wichita, Kan.; Emily James, senior, Westminster, Colo.; Aurore Joigny, Deuil-la-Barre, France; Claire Krizek, senior, McPherson, Kan.; Casey Maxon, senior, Lawrence, Kan.; Kasey Miller, senior, Derby, Kan.; Erik Steffens, senior, Dighton, Kan.

Professor of the Year Award - Laura Workman Eells, associate professor of sociology.

Service Awards
• Laurina Hannan, sophomore, Wamego, Kan. (176 hours), Michael Himlie, freshman, Harmony, Minn. (216 hours), Rebecca Hornung-Heeke, sophomore, Spearville, Kan. (147 hours), Danna Jacks, sophomore, Stafford, Kan. (108 hours), Isabelle Moyer, freshman, McPherson, Kan. (200 hours), Elizabeth Newby, freshman, McPherson, Kan. (135 hours), Colby Patton, sophomore, Maize, Kan. (140 hours)

Senior Award for Distinction in Campus Ministry - Sarah Neher, senior, Rochester, Minn.; and Allison Snyder, senior, Adel, Iowa

National Society of Leadership & Success
• National Excellence in Leadership Award - Jacee Cobery, senior, Gove, Kan.; Ivy Newton, senior, Hutchinson, Kan.; Taylor Wilkens, senior, Clearwater, Kan.
• Outstanding NSLS Member Award - Katie Naccarato, senior, Valley Center, Kan.

Staff Person of the Year Award - Carole Barr, director of the Royer Center for Academic Development

MyMC Contest Winner - Derrick Toney, senior, Salinas, Calif.

     Share This / Bookmark


McPherson College
News Feeds:

Add to My Yahoo!
Add to Google