college mcp-logo-header-white mcpherson

McPherson College Holds Second Annual Juried Student Art Exhibition

Sometimes it’s recognition from a stranger that means the most.

That’s the idea behind the second annual McPherson College Juried Student Art Exhibition, on display now through Feb. 5 in Friendship Hall on the campus of McPherson College. It will conclude with a reception for the student artists on that date from 2 to 3:30 p.m., and the public is invited and encouraged to attend.

Wayne Conyers, professor of art, said that before last year, the works in the student exhibition were selected by the faculty. Now, however, the college brings in an outside juror to name the student award winners. Conyers said it created a more realistic experience of trying to get into real-world show.

“When they do this, it’s like a professional exhibition,” he said. “They’ve got to apply. They’ve got to prepare.”

This year the exhibition includes 78 works by students in media as diverse as ceramics, graphic design, paint, and even fabrics.

The juror this year is Ron Michael, director of the Birger Sandzén Memorial Gallery in Lindsborg, Kan. He named the best of show winners as well as 14 “Merit Award” recipients from among the works on display.

“We’ve realized that part of assessment of what we’re doing is having outsiders come in and evaluate,” Conyers said.

The “Best of Show: Studio winner” was Italia Venegas, freshman, Shawnee Mission, Kan.; and the “Best of Show: Graphic Design” recipient was Jaden Hilgers, sophomore, Wichita, Kan.

The other MC students accepted for the exhibition are: Chloe Cloud, sophomore, Wichita, Kan.; Alley Domar, senior, McPherson, Kan.; Monica Ewy, senior, McPherson, Kan.; Micah Gilbert, freshman, Elkhart, Ind.; Nora Grosbach, junior, Evergreen, Colo.; Joshua Hall, senior, Tonganoxie, Kan.; Jennifer Jacobitz, sophomore, Muskegon, Mich.; Lisa Koehn, senior, Galva, Kan.; Lillian Oeding, freshman, Wichita, Kan.; Ian Rhoten, sophomore, Wichita, Kan.; Miguel Luna Sanchez, senior, Salinas, Calif.; Logan Schrag, junior, McPherson, Kan.; Amber Shuey, freshman, Wichita, Kan.; Sarah Tajchman, freshman, Marion, Kan.; Brenda Tejero, senior, Aurora, Colo.; Channing Wall, senior, McPherson, Kan.; Madison Whaley, junior, McPherson, Kan.; and Carol Zerger of McPherson, Kan.