college mcp-logo-header-white mcpherson

McPherson College Honors Faculty, Staff, Trustees for Years of Service

MC Service Award Honorees

McPherson College community recently gathered to celebrate 22 employees and trustees for their years of service to the college with a reception, dinner, and awards program at the McPherson Community Building on March 4. The annual night of recognition celebrated the work of faculty, staff, and board of trustee members who have served the college from five to 40 years.

“The outstanding achievements and accomplishments by the honorees in the classroom, within individual departments, and in the McPherson community propel the college beyond being a great college to work for,” President Michael Schneider said. “These honorees facilitate world-class experiences for our students and it is in this deep sense of campus community where our students excel to be leaders of the future.”

Those honored included:

40 Years

  • Herb Smith, professor of religion and philosophy

20 Years

  • Steve Anderson, Custodian
  • Sara Brubaker, director of admissions operations and data analyst

15 Years

  • Luke Chennell, association professor of technology
  • Christi Hopkins, vice president for admissions
  • David Penalva, custodian

10 Years

  • Michaela Valli Groeblacher, associate professor of art
  • Ami Martinez, associate professor of English
  • Brenda Stocklin-Smith, director of human resources
  • Rick Tuxhorn, vice president for finance

Five Years

  • April Counts, assistant professor of education
  • Kendra Flory, assistant of advancement/alumni relations
  • Lindsay Godfrey, assistant professor of business
  • Tina Goodwin, director of public relations
  • Jill Hemenway, administrative assistant in education
  • Julia Largent, assistant professor of communication
  • Robert Mowat, building technician
  • Chandler Short, athletic director

Board of Trustees

  • Dave Christiansen
  • Jonathan Klinger

Special Recognition of

  • Bruce Clary, vice president for academic affairs, retiring after 40 years
  • Laura Eells, professor of sociology, retiring after 26 years