college mcp-logo-header-white mcpherson

Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant (FSEOG)

The Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant (FSEOG) provides free funds to exceptionally needy undergraduate students.   The FSEOG does not need to be repaid.   Full-time recipients in 2021-22 received an average of $330.

Forms and Procedures to Apply
To apply for the FSEOG, students must:

  • Apply to and be accepted to McPherson College
  • Submit a Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) and receive a result known as the Expected Family Contribution (EFC).   The FAFSA is available at .   Students should make sure to include McPherson College’s FAFSA code 001933.

Eligibility Requirements
To be eligible for the FSEOG at McPherson College, students must:

  • Meet the general eligibility requirements as stated within the “Eligibility for Federal Student Financial Aid” section of the Consumer Information Page.
  • Submit all forms for application
  • Demonstrate exceptional need

Criteria for recipient selection
Initial selection for the FSEOG will be to those Pell-eligible students with the lowest EFC’s.   If funding is available after all Pell-eligible students have been awarded, students that are not Pell-eligible, starting with the lowest EFC may be selected.

Criteria for award amount
The actual award amount in any given year will be determined by the following:

  • Expected Family Contribution (EFC)
  • Enrollment status (full time/part-time status)

For the 2021-22 year, FSEOG recipients received an average of $330 for the year.  The maximum amount that a recipient may receive is $4,000 per year and the minimum amount is $100.

Criteria for continued eligibility
To continue receiving the FSEOG, students must:

  • Meet the Satisfactory Academic Progress requirements as explained in the college catalog each semester
  • Submit a new FAFSA each year

The FSEOG is limited in funding.   Students are encouraged to submit their FAFSA to McPherson College as early as possible to secure this award each year.