college mcp-logo-header-white mcpherson

Kansas State Scholarship

The Kansas State Scholarship is designed to assist financially needy students in the top 20-30% of Kansas high school graduates who are designated as state scholars during the senior year of high school.   The Kansas State Scholarship does not need to be repaid.   Recipients in 2015-16 received $1,000 for the year.

Forms and Procedures to Apply
To apply for the Kansas State Scholarship, students must:

  • Apply to and be accepted to McPherson College
  • Submit a Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) and receive a result known as the Expected Family Contribution (EFC).   The FAFSA is available at .   Students should make sure to include McPherson College’s FAFSA code 001933.
  • Submit a State of Kansas Student Aid Application.   This application is available in several formats and is available at:

Eligibility Requirements

To be eligible for the Kansas State Scholarship at McPherson College, students must:

  • Meet the general eligibility requirements as stated within the “Eligibility for Federal Student Financial Aid” section of the Consumer Information Page
  • Submit all forms for application by May 1st of each year
  • Be a Kansas resident
  • Designated as a Kansas State Scholar
    • Taken the ACT by December of the senior year
    • Completed the Kansas Scholars Curriculum (4 years of English, 4 years of Math, 3 years of Science, 3 years of Social Studies, 2 years of Foreign Language)
    • Curriculum, ACT, and 7th semester GPA certified on official state roster by high school counselor, registrar or similar official

Criteria for recipient selection
The Kansas Board of Regents determines the recipients of the Kansas State Scholarship.

Criteria for award amount
Recipients receive $1,000 per year.

Criteria for continued eligibility
To continue receiving the Kansas State Scholarship, students must:

  • Meet the Satisfactory Academic Progress requirements as explained in the college catalog each semester
  • Submit a new FAFSA and State application each year
  • Remain a Kansas resident

More Information