college mcp-logo-header-white mcpherson

MC Recognizes Students at Awards Convocation

Awards Convo 2022 - Who's Who Students

For the first time since 2019, McPherson College gathered in person to recognize the academic and leadership achievements of students, faculty and staff at the Annual Awards Convocation on Wednesday, May 11 in Brown Auditorium.

Recipients were as follows:


  • Female Scholar-athlete of the Year – Emma Singleton
  • Male Scholar-athlete of the Year – Dan Connel

Technology Department – Auto Restoration

  • Julian “Pop Rice Award – Jonathan Hoffman
  • Paul Russell Award for Excellence – Cedric Brown


  • KSCPA John J. Killian Accounting Scholarship – Meghan Smith
  • Outstanding Business Student – Polina Khoroshevskaya

Curriculum & Instruction

  • Model Educator Award – Ryan Bosque, Alexandra Gipson
  • Teacher of Promise Award – Colby Swift, Kaden Tichenor

History & Politics

  • Leland L. Lengel Memorial Scholarship – Kurtis Ebling, Anthony DeVries
  • Marvin and Doreen Will Memorial Scholarship – Kurtis Ebling, Tavian Gray

Natural Science

  • Natural Science Senior Research Award – Bionnah Fessler, Erica Paradise, Emma Singleton
  • Freshman Chemistry Student of the Year – Arianna Lathrop
  • Freshman Biology Student of the Year – Maggie Brown
  • Presented Undergraduate Research at the Kansas Academy of Sciences – Brionnah Fessler (2nd place, oral presentations), Emma Singleton (3rd place, oral presentations), Erica Paradise, Madison Hall

Behavioral Sciences

  • Outstanding Psychology Students – Jadin Fleming, Hannah McKay
  • Outstanding Sociology Students – Kollin Goering, Shyanne Henkis
  • Behavioral Sciences Senior Thesis Award – Anika Jobe, Vanessa Cisneros


  • Content Editor of Inscribe – Alexis Grattan, Jacqueline Gullion
  • Design Editor of Inscribe – Lola Hipp

Art & Design

Winners of the Annual McPherson College Student Art Competition:

  • Best in Studio Arts – Madison Mullen
  • Best in Graphic Design – Junior Silva
  • Best in Photography – Abigail Briscoe

Five State Photo Competition & Exhibition

  • Matt Mahan for Veyron & Mini
  • Madison Mullen for Tysana & In My Bed
  • Xavier Powel for The Other Side
  • Junior Silva for bison & Hands
  • Cameron Wright for Frame in Frame

AIGA Wichita Student Portfolio Forum

  • Best in Typography – Mackenzie Unruh
  • Art & Design Students of the Year – Cheneal Benne, Junior Silva

Physical Education

  • Physical Education and Health Award for Academic Excellence – Nicholas Turner
  • Interdisciplinary Health Science Award for Academic Excellence – Jake Pearson

Who’s Who in the McPherson College Class of 2022

  • Thane Barta, Molly Booker, Cedric Brown, Kourtney Brumley, Vanessa Cisneros, Jadin Fleming, Theodore Flint, Alexandra Gipson, Sierra Grow, Shyanne Henkis, Polina Khoroshevskaya, Hannah McKay, Kody Scholl, Emma Singleton, Kaden Tichenor

Professor of the Year – Dr. Stephen Hoyer, behavioral science

Staff Person of the Year – Registrar Office staff – Tricia Hartshorn, Rhianna Reed, and Jerod Corbus

Student Government Association

  • Shayanne Henkis, SGA president
  • Olivia Smith, SGA president-elect