college mcp-logo-header-white mcpherson

McPherson College Recognizes Employees For Years Of Service

2023 Service Award honorees

The McPherson College community recently gathered to celebrate 18 employees and trustees for their years of service to the college with a reception, dinner, and awards program at the McPherson Community Building on March 3. The annual night of recognition celebrated the work of faculty, staff, and board of trustee members who have served the college from five to 35 years.

“The outstanding achievements and accomplishments by the honorees in the classroom, within individual departments, and in the McPherson community propel the college beyond being a great college to work for,” President Michael Schneider said. “These honorees facilitated world-class experiences for our students and it is in this deep sense of campus community where our students excel to be leaders of the future.”

Those honored included:

35 Years – Kim Stanley, professor of English

30 Years – Jonathan Frye, professor of natural science

20 Years – Ku-Sup Chin, professor of sociology; Dee Erway-Sherwood, professor of graphic design and program director of graphic design; Rod Gieselman, professor of business; Brian Lundberg, director of marketing

15 Years – Phil Schoenwetter, head athletic trainer

10 Years – Dara Dix, student financial services manager; Lorena Medrano, associate professor of Spanish; Kyle Hopkins, associate professor of music and director of bands

5 Years – Leslie Auman, custodian supervisor; Amelia Lutz, advancement services coordinator; Josh Nichols, head women’s basketball coach; Kelly Olson, admissions association and campus visit coordinator; Jennifer Pollard, assistant professor of theatre; Ricardo Rodriguez, assistant professor of physics

Board of Trustees – Kerri Kobbeman ‘97 and Les Shenefelt ‘69