college mcp-logo-header-white mcpherson

Four McPherson College Students Receive KICF Scholarships

Four McPherson College students were among 21 from independent colleges in Kansas who received scholarships from The Kansas Independent College Foundation (KICF), celebrating the diverse and talented student community committed to excellence, virtue, and integrity.

  • Rhyan Lucas, a biochemistry major from Shawnee, Kan., was awarded the New Horizons Scholarship, recognizing students from underrepresented backgrounds and first-generation students.
  • Emily Peterson, accounting & finance major from Canton, Kan., was awarded the William Tschudy Scholarship for Business & Public Service, recognizing a student planning a graduate education to use business skills in service of the public.
  • Taylor Starr, a graphic design & studio art major from Newton, Kan., received the Future Leaders in the Arts scholarship.
  • Kenzie Cooper, an elementary education major from Wamego, Kan., received the Future Leaders in Education scholarship.

The Kansas Independent College Foundation received over 105 nominations for the annual merit-based scholarships. A panel of 10 judges helped select the winners, representing 10 of the KICF’s 21-member schools. Each nominee was asked to submit a detailed essay about their leadership training, future career goals, and why they chose an independent option for their higher education.

Recognizing particularly meritorious students through a competitive process is a powerful way to support their educational endeavors and help bring attention to the high quality of students and the work of the independent colleges in Kansas, KICF President Matt Lindsey said in a statement.