college mcp-logo-header-white mcpherson

Members of Campus Community Honored at Light and Life Awards

Light and Life Award Ceremony 2024

The McPherson College Student Government Association honored campus community members at the Light and Life Awards ceremony on Sunday, April 28, at the McPherson Community Building. The awards recognize excellence outside of the classroom and are awarded to students, advisors, college community members, sports teams, clubs, and organizations.

The following received awards.

  • Kenya McCain – Bridge Builder, recognizes a student or group who embraces differences and diversity and works to bridge gaps with different campus factions.
  • Gamma Beta Phi and Lucy Bowman – Excellence in Community Service, recognizes a student or group’s earnest willingness to serve others through community service efforts during the academic year.
  • Malia Pfeiff – First-Year Student of the Year, reserved for a student who is new to McPherson College (freshman or transfer) and has demonstrated exceptional achievements in their first year. Through their active involvement and leadership potential, they have excelled academically and made meaningful contributions to the campus community.
  • The 2023-24 Residence Life Team – Good Neighbor, recognizes a person or group who has demonstrated what it means to be a good neighbor through friendliness, consideration, and respect. Examples are demonstrating excellence when facing ethical dilemmas or difficult decisions, bettering the campus climate, or improving others’ lives through simple acts.
  • Mariah Fede – Greatest Leap, reserved for a student or group who has significantly improved since the prior year. Examples include overcoming academic difficulties, increasing group membership, rising above circumstances, or other underdog success stories.
  • Vicki Schmidt – Outstanding Advisor, for a club or organization advisor who models the college’s mission of developing whole persons through scholarship, participation, and service and mentors and guides students to lead the campus and become stronger leaders.
  • McPherson Education Honors Society – Outstanding Student Group, recognizes a student organization, sports team, or other established group whose members exhibit scholarship, participation, and service; who have positively impacted the community; and who have contributed positively to the campus community throughout the year.
  • Tavian Gray – PAWSitive Spirit, recognizes a student who embodies vibrant energy and infectious enthusiasm that define what it means to be a bulldog. Examples are cheering on our teams, being involved in campus activities, having pride for McPherson Bulldogs, and inspiring others to do the same.
  • Taylor Star – Rising Star, recognizes a new leader of any academic classification who models scholarship, participation, and service through a willingness to lead and contributions to the campus community.
  • Miranda Gaytan – Silent Warrior, recognizes an individual who embodies the essence of resilience, determination, and commitment without seeking the spotlight. This individual consistently demonstrates unwavering strength, quietly overcoming challenges and pushing through college life.
  • Kourtnie Rohn – Star of the Show, recognizes a student or group of students who exemplifies excellence, dedication, and exceptional achievement in their role on stage, on the court, on the field, or any aspect on campus.
  • Mia Birkes – Student Employee of the Year, honors a student whose outstanding dedication, exemplary work ethic, and crucial contributions have significantly enhanced the operations and atmosphere of our institution.
  • Taylor Bohannon – Student Leader of the Year, recognizes an established student leader who has demonstrated excellence in campus leadership, academics, and achievement through multiple involvement or leadership opportunities or significant contributions to the campus community.
  • Cooper Koestel and Benny Lopez (Sodexo) – Unsung Hero, individuals receiving this award may not have an official title but have positively influenced some aspect of the campus from behind the scenes with a positive attitude, a willingness to help in whatever capacity necessary, and a commitment to excellence.